Press Release

Jennifer R. Teitle Wins Assistant and Associate Deans Leadership Award

Katherine HazelriggIssued: 12-02-21

Contact: Katherine Hazelrigg  (202) 461-3888 /

Washington, DC – The Board of Directors of the Council of Graduate Schools (CGS) has announced that Dr. Jennifer R. Teitle, assistant dean of the Graduate College at the University of Iowa, is the 2021 winner of the Assistant and Associate Deans Leadership Award. Teitle received the honor at an awards ceremony held during the CGS 61st Annual Meeting in New Orleans.

The award was created by the CGS Board of Directors to recognize individuals who have shown exemplary commitment to graduate education by demonstrating creativity and innovation in response to institutional challenges and/or limited budgets or resources; building partnerships both internal and external to the graduate school; identifying and obtaining resources, both internal and external to the graduate school; effectively advocating on behalf of graduate education; fostering inclusiveness in the graduate community; and engaging student voices (including diverse voices).

Dr. Teitle becomes the award’s third recipient for her valuable contributions to the University of Iowa graduate community. Her many accomplishments include developing the Graduate Student Success Center to deliver professional development programming across the university; establishing a campus-wide Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition, leveraging winning presentations to communicate the value of graduate education to external stakeholders; building relationships with alumni across graduate programs to promote PhD career diversity; and leading campus efforts to improve mentoring and career support.

“In every aspect of Dr. Teitle’s work, she clearly advocates for graduate students, paying special attention to assuring an inclusive perspective in her work. Jen has played a critical role in supporting students during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, designing platforms, leading workshops, and overseeing adjusted appointment structures for hundreds of graduate students across campus,” said Dr. Amanda H. Thein, associate provost for graduate and professional education and dean of the Graduate College at the University of Iowa. “Jen’s colleagues and the students in the Graduate College are exceptionally fortunate to have her professional insight, drive, and dedication.”

“It is a pleasure to recognize the outstanding efforts of our assistant and associate dean colleagues who tirelessly work on behalf of our graduate students, and Dr. Jennifer Teitle is no exception. Her advocacy and collaborative approach to graduate education stood out among her peers. Additionally, she is lauded for promulgating practices and programs with external partners and professional organizations, donating her time and talent to these endeavors,” said Dr. Sheryl Tucker, selection committee chair, and vice provost and dean of the Graduate College at Oklahoma State University.

Nominees for the award must be a current assistant or associate-level dean at a CGS member institution (Regular or Associate) with primary administrative responsibility in graduate education. Assistant or associate deans whose graduate deans currently serve on the CGS Board are not eligible to be nominated for the award during the dean’s active years of board service. Nominations are made by CGS member institutions and are reviewed by a committee selected by the CGS Board of Directors. The winner receives a $1,500 honorarium and is invited to plan and participate in a session at the CGS Summer Workshop on a topic of their choosing.

CGS gratefully acknowledges Liaison’s financial support of the Assistant and Associate Deans Leadership Award.  Liaison, a higher education admissions management and marketing automation software and services company, is a CGS Sustaining Member.


The Council of Graduate Schools (CGS) is an organization of approximately 500 institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada engaged in graduate education, research, and the preparation of candidates for advanced degrees. The organization’s mission is to improve and advance graduate education, which it accomplishes through advocacy in the federal policy arena, research, and the development and dissemination of best practices.