Eligibility to nominate individuals to five awards programs is a benefit of institutional membership in CGS. We present awards at the CGS Annual Meeting to young scholars in recognition of their work, and we recognize member institutions for innovative programmatic efforts that benefit their graduate communities.

For information about awards contact Anna M. Naranjo.

Graduate Student and Recent Alumni Awards

CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation

These awards are made annually to individuals nominated by a member institution, who have completed dissertations representing original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline.

Gustave O. Arlt Award in the Humanities

This award, established in 1972, is presented annually to a scholar-teacher in the humanities. The award and the fields of competition are determined each year.




Assistant and Associate Deans Award

Assistant and Associate Deans Leadership Award

Created by the Board of Directors, this award recognizes the major impact of assistant and associate deans on the quality of graduate education.

Debra W. Stewart Leadership Award

Debra W. Stewart Award for Outstanding Leadership in Graduate Education

Created by the Board of Directors to recognize outstanding leadership in graduate education, this award is given annually to a full graduate dean who exemplifies the leadership qualities of the Council’s fifth president, Debra W. Stewart.

ETS/CGS Award for Innovation in Graduate Education

ETS/CGS Award for Innovation in Promoting Success in Graduate Education: From Admission through Completion

This program recognizes promising efforts in initiating or scaling up innovations in graduate education that occur from admission through successful completion of a degree program, focusing especially on innovations that promise success of a diverse and inclusive student population.