First presented in 1981 and sponsored jointly by CGS and ProQuest, part of Clarivate, these awards are made each year to individuals who, in the opinion of the award committee, have completed dissertations representing original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline.

Two awards are given annually in two different broad areas (mathematics, physical sciences, and engineering; and social sciences; and the biological and life sciences; and humanities and fine arts). Individuals must be nominated for these awards by a member institution, nominations will be accepted until June 30, 2023. Nominated dissertations must be in the ProQuest database to be eligible.

The fields of competition for this year are:

  • Biology and Life Sciences
  • Humanites, and Fine Arts

2023 Call for Nominations

2023 Nomination Form

Past Award Winners



Anna M. Naranjo

Award support provided by: