Nominations for the 2023 award has closed. 


Created by the CGS Board of Directors to recognize outstanding leadership in graduate education, this award is given annually to an individual who exemplifies the leadership qualities of the Council’s fifth president, Debra W. Stewart. The selection committee gives serious consideration to nominees with a strong reputation for ethics and integrity, a history of active participation in the graduate community, and a record of strategic vision and actions resulting in meaningful impacts in areas such as, but not limited to, evidence-based innovation, program development, diversity and inclusion, student learning and career outcomes, personnel management, policy advocacy in support of graduate education and research, and fiscal responsibility.


  • The current graduate dean (IHE1) at any CGS “Regular” or “Associate” member institution is eligible to be nominated for the award.
  • Members of the CGS Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated for the award during active years of board service.
  • Please see the Frequently Asked Questions provided in the Call for Nominations for additional considerations.

How to Submit a Nomination Package

A complete nomination package includes the following five components:

  • A completed nomination form;
  • 300-word summary of the nominee’s achievements in the relevant areas of leadership;
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae (5 pages maximum);
  • Signed letter of endorsement from the president or provost at the nominee’s institution; and
  • Three additional letters of recommendation supporting the nomination. A combination of internal letters (submitted by individuals at the nominee’s home institution) and external letters is encouraged. Letters should be addressed to the “Debra Stewart Award Selection Committee.”

Note: The nomination package must be as a single pdf document to Anna M. Naranjo. Mailed or faxed paper submissions will not be accepted.


Anna M. Naranjo